Home > ROME > Darkness Hurt Abandoned Alone Left Dropped Forgotten Fallen Crushed Lifted Raised Rejoice Saved

Darkness Hurt Abandoned Alone Left Dropped Forgotten Fallen Crushed Lifted Raised Rejoice Saved

I don’t know where to begin on this day, a day that has traumatized me now for three consecutive days, bed-sided at Hotel derby. The routine of the day began as any other; we began the day with a former nurse of Santa Maria del Pieta taking us on a walking discussion exploring the confines of what the complex used to be and the inhabitants it’s used to hold. Some news the nurse offered was truly eye opening, the fact that all the patients, nurses, and doctors were locked within the building truly seemed inhuman, the fact that some individuals were being caged not only within the compound of the complex, but were held within the walls of the building certainly seemed harsh and the fact some didn’t even experience the warmth of daylight, is just cruel and callous. It was also intriguing to hear how they admitted the so-called patients in, the reality being, they didn’t need to be insane to be admitted, women out of wedlock were administered in, those considered dangerous were those who attempted to escape. These are all reason that contradicts my method of judgment compared to the customary ways Santa Maria del Pieta operated.

Now for the story that many will read and ponder on how, why, when did this happen, and even why did I do it. Well this is the testament that occurred on July 20, 2010. The objective of our walk was to look and seek a key, the key being an account of what a patient of Santa Maria del Pieta ran off with, and threw it in the lake on the outskirts of the Santa Maria del Pieta complex. So our stroll began, we headed east out of our hostel, where we were staying previously and made our way over to the perimeter of the Santa Maria del Pieta complex, where there was a ripped fence. The first hint that I was weak began there, as I was already unable to hop the fence by myself, with the help of Ciao, I crossed to the other side. And so our journey began, we began walking through the outskirt meadows of the complex where we encountered a small, but walk able trail. The trail proved to hold many wonders in its sites, where it appeared to be an old passage to what at present are abandoned huts and yard entrance to individual units. The path was a bit of a pain, where pine threads on branches were a hassle to move off, in order for them not to scratch, hit or pull on the hair. A good number of minor scrape on the arms might have come from them. As we approached an open patch of land, we encounter an elderly gentle to which Lorenzo seemed to have a liken to, an told him of our quest of this key that we were on the hunt to find, though he believe it was only a myth, not a true account of what might have happened. The elderly man then pointed us towards a new trail, a trail that would become the end of me. As we made our way through the forest of trees, we had encounter a mountain and were hopeless to think of what to do and where to establish ourselves. Lorenzo had this idea that climbing might be fun, something I already disagreed with personally. The first few feet up were not bad, but the incline wasn’t devastating at that point. As I looked on the trail up became harder and harder to push on with, but as a soldier I decided to fight on. As the anchoring procedure continued, I took Lorenzo hand and fought my way up, as pushed up, and took hold of the branch with my other arm, Lorenzo to my account let go before I had a solid grip on the branch, nor were my feet planted good into the ground. At that moment I might have felt my life flesh before my eyes as I was dropping down 6-10ft before I stopped with the help of others forcing me to a halt.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Categories: ROME
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment